The Cruel Prince by Holly Black

30012018-IMG_7179

26032825

 

The Cruel Prince by Holly Black
Series: The Folk of the Air #1
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Published January 2nd, 2018
Genres: Fantasy, YA, Fairies
Pages: 384
Format: Hardback
Buy: Book Depository | Amazon

Of course I want to be like them. They’re beautiful as blades forged in some divine fire. They will live forever.

And Cardan is even more beautiful than the rest. I hate him more than all the others. I hate him so much that sometimes when I look at him, I can hardly breathe.

Jude was seven years old when her parents were murdered and she and her two sisters were stolen away to live in the treacherous High Court of Faerie. Ten years later, Jude wants nothing more than to belong there, despite her mortality. But many of the fey despise humans. Especially Prince Cardan, the youngest and wickedest son of the High King.

To win a place at the Court, she must defy him–and face the consequences.

In doing so, she becomes embroiled in palace intrigues and deceptions, discovering her own capacity for bloodshed. But as civil war threatens to drown the Courts of Faerie in violence, Jude will need to risk her life in a dangerous alliance to save her sisters, and Faerie itself.

Read More »

Advertisements

Batman: Nightwalker by Marie Lu

27012018-IMG_7165.jpg

29749090

 

Batman: Nightwalker by Marie Lu
Series: DC Icons #2
Publisher: Penguin
First published January 2nd, 2018
Genres: Fantasy, Superheroes, YA
Pages: 288
Format: Paperback
Buy: Book Depository | Amazon

The highly anticipated coming-of-age story for the world’s greatest super hero: BATMAN by the # 1 New York Timesbestselling author Marie Lu.

Returning home from his lavish eighteenth birthday party, Bruce Wayne stops a criminal’s getaway – disobeying the police and crashing his car during the chase.

Sentenced to community service in Gotham City’s Arkham Asylum, he encounters some of the the city’s most dangerous and mentally disturbed criminals. Among these, Bruce meets the intriguing Madeleine who has ties to the Nightwalker gang that is terrorizing Gotham City.

She’s a mystery Bruce has to unravel but can he trust her? The Nightwalkers target the rich, and Bruce’s name is next on their list.

Read More »

Little Fires Everywhere by Celeste Ng

Captura de ecrã 2017-06-30, às 18.44.22

34273236

Little Fires Everywhere by Celeste Ng

Series: N/A

Publisher: Penguin Press

Published September 12th, 2017

Genres: Contemporary, Adult Fiction

Pages: 338

Format: ARC

Buy: Book Depository | Amazon

* Received this copy from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. Thank you very much! This doesn’t affect the review in any way. My opinions are, as always, my own.*

The brilliant new novel from the author of the New York Times bestseller, Everything I Never Told You.

Everyone in Shaker Heights was talking about it that summer: how Isabelle, the last of the Richardson children, had finally gone around the bend and burned the house down.

In Shaker Heights, a placid, progressive suburb of Cleveland, everything is meticulously planned – from the layout of the winding roads, to the colours of the houses, to the successful lives its residents will go on to lead. And no one embodies this spirit more than Elena Richardson, whose guiding principal is playing by the rules.

Enter Mia Warren – an enigmatic artist and single mother – who arrives in this idyllic bubble with her teenage daughter Pearl, and rents a house from the Richardsons. Soon Mia and Pearl become more than just tenants: all four Richardson children are drawn to the alluring mother-daughter pair. But Mia carries with her a mysterious past, and a disregard for the rules that threatens to upend this carefully ordered community.

When the Richardsons’ friends attempt to adopt a Chinese-American baby, a custody battle erupts that dramatically divides the town and puts Mia and Mrs. Richardson on opposing sides. Suspicious of Mia and her motives, Mrs. Richardson becomes determined to uncover the secrets in Mia’s past. But her obsession will come at unexpected and devastating costs to her own family – and Mia’s.

Little Fires Everywhere explores the weight of long-held secrets and the ferocious pull of motherhood-and the danger of believing that planning and following the rules can avert disaster, or heartbreak.

Read More »

The Magician’s Nephew by C.S. Lewis

20012018-IMG_7135.jpg

65610

 

The Magician’s Nephew by C.S. Lewis
Series: Chronicles of Narnia (Chronological Order #1)
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
First published May 2nd, 1955
Genres: Classics, Children, Fantasy, Catholic
Pages: 202
Format: Paperback
Buy: Book Depository | Amazon

When Digory and Polly are tricked by Digory’s peculiar Uncle Andrew into becoming part of an experiment, they set off on the adventure of a lifetime. What happens to the children when they touch Uncle Andrew’s magic rings is far beyond anything even the old magician could have imagined.

Hurtled into the Wood between the Worlds, the children soon find that they can enter many worlds through the mysterious pools there. In one world they encounter the evil Queen Jadis, who wreaks havoc in the streets of London when she is accidentally brought back with them. When they finally manage to pull her out of London, unintentionally taking along Uncle Andrew and a coachman with his horse, they find themselves in what will come to be known as the land of Narnia.

Read More »

The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle by Stuart Turton – ARC Review

Captura de ecrã 2017-06-30, às 18.44.22

35967101

The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle by Stuart Turton

Series: N/A

Publisher: Raven Books

Expected publication: February 8th, 2018 (UK) / September (US)

Genres: Mystery, Thriller, Fiction

Pages: 512

Format: ARC

Buy: Book Depository | Amazon

* Received this copy from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. Thank you very much! This doesn’t affect the review in any way. My opinions are, as always, my own.*

How do you stop a murder that’s already happened?

At a gala party thrown by her parents, Evelyn Hardcastle will be killed–again. She’s been murdered hundreds of times, and each day, Aiden Bishop is too late to save her. Doomed to repeat the same day over and over, Aiden’s only escape is to solve Evelyn Hardcastle’s murder and conquer the shadows of an enemy he struggles to even comprehend–but nothing and no one are quite what they seem.

Deeply atmospheric and ingeniously plotted, The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle is a highly original debut that will appeal to fans of Kate Atkinson and Agatha Christie.

Read More »

The Toymakers by Robert Dinsdale (ARC Review)

Captura de ecrã 2017-06-30, às 18.44.22

34846969

The Toymakers by Robert Dinsdale

Series: N/A

Publisher: Del Rey

Expected publication: February 8th, 2018

Genres: Historical Fiction, Fantasy, Magical Realism

Pages: 480

Format: ARC

Buy: Book Depository | Amazon

* Received this copy from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. Thank you very much! This doesn’t affect the review in any way. My opinions are, as always, my own.*

Do you remember when you believed in magic?

The Emporium opens with the first frost of winter. It is the same every year. Across the city, when children wake to see ferns of white stretched across their windows, or walk to school to hear ice crackling underfoot, the whispers begin: the Emporium is open!

It is 1917, and London has spent years in the shadow of the First World War. In the heart of Mayfair, though, there is a place of hope. A place where children’s dreams can come true, where the impossible becomes possible – that place is Papa Jack’s Toy Emporium.

For years Papa Jack has created and sold his famous magical toys: hobby horses, patchwork dogs and bears that seem alive, toy boxes bigger on the inside than out, ‘instant trees’ that sprout from boxes, tin soldiers that can fight battles on their own. Now his sons, Kaspar and Emil, are just old enough to join the family trade. Into this family comes a young Cathy Wray – homeless and vulnerable. The Emporium takes her in, makes her one of its own. But Cathy is about to discover that while all toy shops are places of wonder, only one is truly magical…

Read More »

Beneath the Sugar Sky by Seanan McGuire

20012018-IMG_7127.jpg

27366528

 

Beneath the Sugar Sky by Seanan McGuire
Series: Wayward Children #3
Publisher: tor.com
Published January 9th, 2018
Genres: Fantasy, YA, Novella
Pages: 174
Format: Hardback
Buy: Book Depository | Amazon

Beneath the Sugar Sky returns to Eleanor West’s Home for Wayward Children. At this magical boarding school, children who have experienced fantasy adventures are reintroduced to the “real” world.

Sumi died years before her prophesied daughter Rini could be born. Rini was born anyway, and now she’s trying to bring her mother back from a world without magic.

Read More »