The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle by Stuart Turton – ARC Review

Captura de ecrã 2017-06-30, às 18.44.22

35967101

The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle by Stuart Turton

Series: N/A

Publisher: Raven Books

Expected publication: February 8th, 2018 (UK) / September (US)

Genres: Mystery, Thriller, Fiction

Pages: 512

Format: ARC

Buy: Book Depository | Amazon

* Received this copy from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. Thank you very much! This doesn’t affect the review in any way. My opinions are, as always, my own.*

How do you stop a murder that’s already happened?

At a gala party thrown by her parents, Evelyn Hardcastle will be killed–again. She’s been murdered hundreds of times, and each day, Aiden Bishop is too late to save her. Doomed to repeat the same day over and over, Aiden’s only escape is to solve Evelyn Hardcastle’s murder and conquer the shadows of an enemy he struggles to even comprehend–but nothing and no one are quite what they seem.

Deeply atmospheric and ingeniously plotted, The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle is a highly original debut that will appeal to fans of Kate Atkinson and Agatha Christie.

Read More »

Advertisements

FairyLoot January 2018 Unboxing

30012018-IMG_7186

Hey guys! The theme for January’s FairyLoot Box was Talk Faerie To Me. FairyLoot is an amazing YA bookish subscription box. I was extremely excited for this book for two reasons. First, because it was said that the box contained ACOTAR merch and second, because they said that a pillowcase was included and it’s my first bookish pillowcase ever!

If you wanna check out what this box included, just keep reading! I will show photos of the items, and information and my thoughts on them.Read More »

January Wrap-up and February TBR

wrapupandtbr

I can’t believe January already passed… We just started the year! But it did… And it’s time for another Wrap-up and TBR!

Comparing to November and December this month was much better in terms of reading. I got to some books I was dying to read, I read a bit more – 11 books -, I got some holiday time and I had a bit less school stuff to do. So altogether it was an awesome month!

How was your month? What books did you read?
Read More »

The Toymakers by Robert Dinsdale (ARC Review)

Captura de ecrã 2017-06-30, às 18.44.22

34846969

The Toymakers by Robert Dinsdale

Series: N/A

Publisher: Del Rey

Expected publication: February 8th, 2018

Genres: Historical Fiction, Fantasy, Magical Realism

Pages: 480

Format: ARC

Buy: Book Depository | Amazon

* Received this copy from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. Thank you very much! This doesn’t affect the review in any way. My opinions are, as always, my own.*

Do you remember when you believed in magic?

The Emporium opens with the first frost of winter. It is the same every year. Across the city, when children wake to see ferns of white stretched across their windows, or walk to school to hear ice crackling underfoot, the whispers begin: the Emporium is open!

It is 1917, and London has spent years in the shadow of the First World War. In the heart of Mayfair, though, there is a place of hope. A place where children’s dreams can come true, where the impossible becomes possible – that place is Papa Jack’s Toy Emporium.

For years Papa Jack has created and sold his famous magical toys: hobby horses, patchwork dogs and bears that seem alive, toy boxes bigger on the inside than out, ‘instant trees’ that sprout from boxes, tin soldiers that can fight battles on their own. Now his sons, Kaspar and Emil, are just old enough to join the family trade. Into this family comes a young Cathy Wray – homeless and vulnerable. The Emporium takes her in, makes her one of its own. But Cathy is about to discover that while all toy shops are places of wonder, only one is truly magical…

Read More »

Beneath the Sugar Sky by Seanan McGuire

20012018-IMG_7127.jpg

27366528

 

Beneath the Sugar Sky by Seanan McGuire
Series: Wayward Children #3
Publisher: tor.com
Published January 9th, 2018
Genres: Fantasy, YA, Novella
Pages: 174
Format: Hardback
Buy: Book Depository | Amazon

Beneath the Sugar Sky returns to Eleanor West’s Home for Wayward Children. At this magical boarding school, children who have experienced fantasy adventures are reintroduced to the “real” world.

Sumi died years before her prophesied daughter Rini could be born. Rini was born anyway, and now she’s trying to bring her mother back from a world without magic.

Read More »

November Rain by Shannon A. Thompson

book review28459688

November Rain by Shannon A. Thompson
Series: Bad Bloods #1
Publisher: Clean Teen Publishing
Published September 12th, 2017
Genres: Dystopia, Sci-fi, YA
Pages: 230 – 5h 15min
Format: Audiobook
Buy: Book Depository | Amazon – Audiobook

Seventeen-year-old Serena isn’t human. She is a bad blood, and in the city of Vendona, bad bloods are executed. In the last moments before she faces imminent death, a prison guard aids her escape and sparks a revolt. Back on the streets determined to destroy her kind, Serena is spared by a fellow bad blood named Daniel. His past tragedies are as equally mysterious as her connection to them.

Unbeknownst to the two, this connection is the key to winning the election for bad bloods’ rights to be seen as human again. But Serena is the only one who can secure Vendona’s vote. Now, Daniel must unite with her before all hope is lost and bad bloods are eradicated, even if it means exposing secrets worse than death itself. United or not, a city will fight, rain will fall, and all will be threatened by star-crossed love and political corruption.

* Received this copy from the author in exchange for an honest review. Thank you very much! This doesn’t affect the review in any way. My opinions are, as always, my own.*

Read More »