Summer Days and Summer Nights: Twelve Love Stories

04082017-IMG_6808

25063781

Summer Days and Summer Nights: Twelve Love Stories edited by Stephenie Perkins
Series: N/A
Publisher: St. Martin’s Griffin
Published May 17th, 2016
Genres: Anthologies, YA, Romance
Pages: 388
Format: Paperback
Buy: Book Depository | Amazon

Maybe it’s the long, lazy days, or maybe it’s the heat making everyone a little bit crazy. Whatever the reason, summer is the perfect time for love to bloom. Summer Days & Summer Nights: Twelve Love Stories, written by twelve bestselling young adult writers and edited by the international bestselling author Stephanie Perkins, will have you dreaming of sunset strolls by the lake. So set out your beach chair and grab your sunglasses. You have twelve reasons this summer to soak up the sun and fall in love.

Featuring stories by Leigh Bardugo, Francesca Lia Block, Libba Bray, Cassandra Clare, Brandy Colbert, Tim Federle, Lev Grossman, Nina LaCour, Stephanie Perkins, Veronica Roth, Jon Skovron, and Jennifer E. Smith.

Read More »

Not That Bad: Dispatches from Rape Culture

16072018-IMG_8124.jpg

35887136
Not That Bad: Dispatches from Rape Culture edited by Roxane Gay
Series: Standalone
Publisher: Harper Perennial
Published May 1st, 2018
Genres: Nonfiction, Feminism, Essays
Pages: 368
Format: Paperback
Buy: Book Depository | Amazon

Edited and with an introduction by Roxane Gay, the New York Times bestselling and deeply beloved author of Bad Feminist and Hunger, this anthology of first-person essays tackles rape, assault, and harassment head-on.

In this valuable and revealing anthology, cultural critic and bestselling author Roxane Gay collects original and previously published pieces that address what it means to live in a world where women have to measure the harassment, violence, and aggression they face, and where they are “routinely second-guessed, blown off, discredited, denigrated, besmirched, belittled, patronized, mocked, shamed, gaslit, insulted, bullied” for speaking out. Contributions include essays from established and up-and-coming writers, performers, and critics, including actors Ally Sheedy and Gabrielle Union and writers Amy Jo Burns, Lyz Lenz, and Claire Schwartz. Covering a wide range of topics and experiences, from an exploration of the rape epidemic embedded in the refugee crisis to first-person accounts of child molestation, this collection is often deeply personal and is always unflinchingly honest. Like Rebecca Solnit’s Men Explain Things to Me, Not That Bad will resonate with every reader, saying “something in totality that we cannot say alone.”

Searing and heartbreakingly candid, this provocative collection both reflects the world we live in and offers a call to arms insisting that “not that bad” must no longer be good enough.

Read More »

A Thousand Beginnings and Endings

16072018-IMG_8127.jpg

35430013
A Thousand Beginnings and Endings edited by Ellen Oh and Elsie Chapman
Series: Standalone
Publisher: Greenwillow Books
Published June 26th, 2018
Genres: Anthologies, Short stories, YA, Fantasy, Mythology
Pages: 336
Format: Hardback
Buy: Book Depository | Amazon

Star-crossed lovers, meddling immortals, feigned identities, battles of wits, and dire warnings. These are the stuff of fairy tale, myth, and folklore that have drawn us in for centuries.

Fifteen bestselling and acclaimed authors reimagine the folklore and mythology of East and South Asia in short stories that are by turns enchanting, heartbreaking, romantic, and passionate.

Compiled by We Need Diverse Books’s Ellen Oh and Elsie Chapman, the authors included in this exquisite collection are: Renee Ahdieh, Sona Charaipotra, Preeti Chhibber, Roshani Chokshi, Aliette de Bodard, Melissa de la Cruz, Julie Kagawa, Rahul Kanakia, Lori M. Lee, E. C. Myers, Cindy Pon, Aisha Saeed, Shveta Thakrar, and Alyssa Wong.

A mountain loses her heart. Two sisters transform into birds to escape captivity. A young man learns the true meaning of sacrifice. A young woman takes up her mother’s mantle and leads the dead to their final resting place. From fantasy to science fiction to contemporary, from romance to tales of revenge, these stories will beguile readers from start to finish. For fans of Neil Gaiman’s Unnatural Creatures and Ameriie’s New York Times–bestselling Because You Love to Hate Me.

Read More »

Slasher Girls & Monster Boys Anthology​

24102017-IMG_6911.jpg

9780147514080

Slasher Girls & Monster Boys stories selected by April Genevieve Tucholke
Series: N/A
Publisher: Speak
First published August 18th, 2015
Genres: Anthologies, YA, Horror, Paranormal
Pages: 416
Format: Paperback
Buy: Book Depository | Amazon

For fans of Stephen King, Neil Gaiman, Lois Duncan, and Daphne Du Maurier comes a powerhouse anthology featuring some of the best writers of YA thrillers and horror

A host of the smartest young adult authors come together in this collection of scary stories and psychological thrillers curated by Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea’s April Genevieve Tucholke.

Each story draws from a classic tale or two—sometimes of the horror genre, sometimes not—to inspire something new and fresh and terrifying. There are no superficial scares here; these are stories that will make you think even as they keep you on the edge of your seat. From bloody horror to supernatural creatures to unsettling, all-too-possible realism, this collection has something for any reader looking for a thrill.

Fans of TV’s The Walking Dead, True Blood, and American Horror Story will tear through tales by these talented authors:

Stefan Bachmann, Leigh Bardugo, Kendare Blake, A. G. Howard, Jay Kristoff, Marie Lu, Jonathan Maberry, Danielle Paige, Carrie Ryan, Megan Shepherd, Nova Ren Suma, McCormick Templeman, April Genevieve Tucholke and Cat Winters.

Read More »

Halloween Mood Reads!

Captura de ecrã 2017-09-11, às 22.34.01 1

Are you already in Halloween mood? Don’t worry! I have some amazing book to share with you guys that will guarantee some amazing time! And if you are not in the mood yet, I am sure that after reading some of these you will be!

So, last year I did two Halloween posts: Best Halloween Books and Best Halloween Movies. But this year I decided to do just a bookish one. I absolutely love this time of the year and I feel that I’ve been reading some really good books just right for Halloween! So, I hope you guys enjoy this post and get to read some of these books if you haven’t already!Read More »

Because You Love to Hate Me: 13 Tales of Villainy edited by Ameriie (spoiler free)

IMG_6771.jpg

33843449Because You Love to Hate Me: 13 Tales of Villainy edited by Ameriie
Series: Standalone
Publisher: Bloomsbury Childrens
First published July 11th, 2017
Genres: Anthologies, Short-stories, YA, Fantasy
Pages: 320
Format: Paperback
Buy: Book Depository | Amazon

Leave it to the heroes to save the world–villains just want to rule the world.

In this unique YA anthology, thirteen acclaimed, bestselling authors team up with thirteen influential BookTubers to reimagine fairy tales from the oft-misunderstood villains’ points of view.
These fractured, unconventional spins on classics like “Medusa,” Sherlock Holmes, and “Jack and the Beanstalk” provide a behind-the-curtain look at villains’ acts of vengeance, defiance, and rage–and the pain, heartbreak, and sorrow that spurned them on. No fairy tale will ever seem quite the same again!

Featuring writing from . . .
Authors: Renée Ahdieh, Ameriie, Soman Chainani, Susan Dennard, Sarah Enni, Marissa Meyer, Cindy Pon, Victoria Schwab, Samantha Shannon, Adam Silvera, Andrew Smith, April Genevieve Tucholke, and Nicola Yoon
BookTubers: Benjamin Alderson (Benjaminoftomes), Sasha Alsberg (abookutopia), Whitney Atkinson (WhittyNovels), Tina Burke (ChristinaReadsYA blog and TheLushables), Catriona Feeney (LittleBookOwl), Jesse George (JessetheReader), Zoë Herdt (readbyzoe), Samantha Lane (Thoughts on Tomes), Sophia Lee (thebookbasement), Raeleen Lemay (padfootandprongs07), Regan Perusse (PeruseProject), Christine Riccio (polandbananasBOOKS), and Steph Sinclair & Kat Kennedy (Cuddlebuggery blog and channel).

Read More »