A Danger to Herself and Others by Alyssa Sheinmel – ARC Review

Captura de ecrã 2017-06-30, às 18.44.22

39986808.jpg

A Danger to Herself and Others by Alyssa Sheinmel

Series: N/A

Publisher: Sourcebooks Fire

Expected publication: February 5th 2019

Genres: YA, Mental Illness

Pages: 352

Format: ARC

Buy: Book Depository | Amazon

* Received this copy from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. Thank you very much! This doesn’t affect the review in any way. My opinions are, as always, my own.*

Only when she’s locked away does the truth begin to escape…

Four walls. One window. No way to escape. Hannah knows there’s been a mistake. She didn’t need to be institutionalized. What happened to her roommate at her summer program was an accident. As soon as the doctors and judge figure out that she isn’t a danger to herself or others, she can go home to start her senior year. In the meantime, she is going to use her persuasive skills to get the staff on her side.

Then Lucy arrives. Lucy has her own baggage. And she may be the only person who can get Hannah to confront the dangerous games and secrets that landed her in confinement in the first place.

Read More »

Little & Lion by Brandy Colbert

28072018-IMG_8171.jpg

36546606

 

Little & Lion by Brandy Colbert
Series: N/A
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
First published August 8th, 2017
Genres: YA, Contemporary, LGBT, Mental Illness
Pages: 325
Format: Paperback
Buy: Book Depository | Amazon

When Suzette comes home to Los Angeles from her boarding school in New England, she’s isn’t sure if she’ll ever want to go back. L.A. is where her friends and family are (as well as her crush, Emil). And her stepbrother, Lionel, who has been diagnosed with bipolar disorder, needs her emotional support.

But as she settles into her old life, Suzette finds herself falling for someone new…the same girl her brother is in love with. When Lionel’s disorder spirals out of control, Suzette is forced to confront her past mistakes and find a way to help her brother before he hurts himself–or worse.

Read More »

Starfish by Akemi Dawn Bowman (ARC Review)

Captura de ecrã 2017-06-30, às 18.44.22

29456598

Starfish by Akemi Dawn Bowman

Series: N/A

Publisher: Ink Road

Expected publication – paperback: April 5th, 2018

Genres: YA, Contemporary, Mental Health

Pages: 352

Format: ARC

Buy: Book DepositoryAmazon

*Received this copy from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. Thank you very much! This doesn’t affect the review in any way. My opinions are, as always, my own.*

Kiko Himura has always had a hard time saying exactly what she’s thinking. With a mother who makes her feel unremarkable and a half-Japanese heritage she doesn’t quite understand, Kiko prefers to keep her head down, certain that once she makes it into her dream art school, Prism, her real life will begin.

But then Kiko doesn’t get into Prism, at the same time her abusive uncle moves back in with her family. So when she receives an invitation from her childhood friend to leave her small town and tour art schools on the west coast, Kiko jumps at the opportunity in spite of the anxieties and fears that attempt to hold her back. And now that she is finally free to be her own person outside the constricting walls of her home life, Kiko learns life-changing truths about herself, her past, and how to be brave.

From debut author Akemi Dawn Bowman comes a luminous, heartbreaking story of identity, family, and the beauty that emerges when we embrace our true selves.

Read More »

What To Say Next by Julie Buxbaum (ARC Review)

captura-de-ecrc3a3-2017-06-30-c3a0s-18-44-22.png

30199656
What To Say Next 
by Julie Buxbaum

Series: Standalone

Publisher: Delacorte Press

Expected publication: July 11th, 2017

Genres: Contemporary, YA, Romance

Pages: 272

Format: ARC

Buy: Book Depository | Amazon

* Received this copy from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. Thank you very much! This doesn’t affect the review in any way. My opinions are, as always, my own.*

Sometimes a new perspective is all that is needed to make sense of the world.

KIT: I don’t know why I decide not to sit with Annie and Violet at lunch. It feels like no one here gets what I’m going through. How could they? I don’t even understand.

DAVID: In the 622 days I’ve attended Mapleview High, Kit Lowell is the first person to sit at my lunch table. I mean, I’ve never once sat with someone until now. “So your dad is dead,” I say to Kit, because this is a fact I’ve recently learned about her.

When an unlikely friendship is sparked between relatively popular Kit Lowell and socially isolated David Drucker, everyone is surprised, most of all Kit and David. Kit appreciates David’s blunt honesty—in fact, she finds it bizarrely refreshing. David welcomes Kit’s attention and her inquisitive nature. When she asks for his help figuring out the how and why of her dad’s tragic car accident, David is all in. But neither of them can predict what they’ll find. Can their friendship survive the truth?

Read More »

Words on Bathroom Walls by Julia Walton (ARC Review)

Captura de ecrã 2017-05-30, às 12.20.22

25695640
Words on Bathroom Walls 
by Julia Walton

Series: Standalone

Publisher: Random House Books for Young Readers

Expected publication: July 4th, 2017

Genres: Contemporary, YA, Mental Illness

Pages: 304

Format: ARC

Buy: Book Depository | Amazon

* Received this copy from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. Thank you very much! This doesn’t affect the review in any way. My opinions are, as always, my own.*

Fans of More Happy Than Not, The Perks of Being a Wallflower, and It’s Kind of a Funny Story will cheer for Adam as he struggles with schizophrenia in this brilliantly honest and unexpectedly funny debut.

Adam has just been diagnosed with schizophrenia. He sees and hears people who aren’t there: Rebecca, a beautiful girl who understands him; the Mob Boss, who harasses him; and Jason, the naked guy who’s unfailingly polite. It should be easy to separate the real from the not real, but Adam can’t.

Still, there’s hope. As Adam starts fresh at a new school, he begins a drug trial that helps him ignore his visions. Suddenly everything seems possible, even love. When he meets Maya, a fiercely intelligent girl, he desperately wants to be the great guy that she thinks he is. But then the miracle drug begins to fail, and Adam will do anything to keep Maya from discovering his secret.

Read More »

ARC Review: Countless by Karen Gregory (spoiler free)

Captura de ecrã 2017-04-30, às 11.26.36.png

34299826

Countless by Karen Gregory

Series: standalone

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing Plc

Expected publication: May 4th, 2017

Genres: Contemporary, Mental Health, YA

Pages: 384

Format: ARC

Buy: Book Depository | Amazon

* Received this copy from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. Thank you very much! This doesn’t affect the review in any way. My opinions are, as always, my own.*

‘Is there anything that’s concerning you?’ Felicity says. ‘College, home, boyfriends?’ Though she’s more or less smiling at this last one.

I don’t smile. Instead, I feel my face go hot. Silence stretches as wide as an ocean.
When I look up, Felicity has this expression on her face like she’s just seen Elvis. Slowly, she leans forward and in a gentle voice I’ve never heard her use before she says, ‘Have you done a pregnancy test?’

When Hedda discovers she is pregnant, she doesn’t believe she could ever look after a baby. The numbers just don’t add up. She is young, and still in the grip of an eating disorder that controls every aspect of how she goes about her daily life. She’s even given her eating disorder a name – Nia. But as the days tick by, Hedda comes to a decision: she and Nia will call a truce, just until the baby is born. 17 weeks, 119 days, 357 meals. She can do it, if she takes it one day at a time …

Heartbreaking and hopeful by turns, Karen Gregory’s debut novel is a story of love, heartache and human resilience. And how the things that matter most can’t be counted. Perfect for fans of Lisa Williamson, Non Pratt and Sarah Crossan.

Read More »

April Wrap-up and May TBR

Captura de ecrã 2017-04-28, às 17.50.27.png

Hey, guys!

I am so happy that this month is finally over! I ended my classes and now I just have to study for an exam! I can finally relax a bit more and dedicate more time to my reading and to my blog! I know I have been a bit on and off doing tags, answering comments and viewing what you all are up to, but I am getting there! Also, I will be uploading more posts again just like I used too!

This month was actually pretty good considering the stress over final school works. I read pretty much what I intended to and added a pile more to my TBR… The balance is off, but at least I had a great time reading the few I got to! I read 10 books, some were arcs, some were manga and a couple I read because the next books are going to be released really soon.Read More »