Dracula by Bram Stoker

17052018-IMG_7901
28332985

Dracula by Bram Stoker
Series: N/A
Publisher: Penguin Classics
First published in 1897
Genres: Classic, Gothic Horror, Fantasy
Pages: 439
Format: Hardback
Buy: Book Depository | Amazon

When Jonathan Harker visits Transylvania to help Count Dracula with the purchase of a London house, he makes a series of horrific discoveries about his client. Soon afterwards, various bizarre incidents unfold in England: an apparently unmanned ship is wrecked off the coast of Whitby; a young woman discovers strange puncture marks on her neck; and the inmate of a lunatic asylum raves about the ‘Master’ and his imminent arrival. In Dracula, Bram Stoker created one of the great masterpieces of the horror genre, brilliantly evoking a nightmare world of vampires and vampire hunters and also illuminating the dark corners of Victorian sexuality and desire.

Read More »

Clockwork Prince by Cassandra Clare

21052018-IMG_7930.jpg

24885507

 

Clockwork Prince by Cassandra Clare
Series: The Infernal Devices #2
Publisher: Margaret K. McElderry Books
First published December 6th, 2011
Genres: YA, Fantasy, Paranormal, Steampunk
Pages: 560
Format: Paperback
Buy: Book Depository | Amazon

In the magical underworld of Victorian London, Tessa Gray has at last found safety with the Shadowhunters. But that safety proves fleeting when rogue forces in the Clave plot to see her protector, Charlotte, replaced as head of the Institute. If Charlotte loses her position, Tessa will be out on the street—and easy prey for the mysterious Magister, who wants to use Tessa’s powers for his own dark ends.

With the help of the handsome, self-destructive Will and the fiercely devoted Jem, Tessa discovers that the Magister’s war on the Shadowhunters is deeply personal. He blames them for a long-ago tragedy that shattered his life. To unravel the secrets of the past, the trio journeys from mist-shrouded Yorkshire to a manor house that holds untold horrors, from the slums of London to an enchanted ballroom where Tessa discovers that the truth of her parentage is more sinister than she had imagined. When they encounter a clockwork demon bearing a warning for Will, they realize that the Magister himself knows their every move—and that one of their own has betrayed them.

Tessa finds her heart drawn more and more to Jem, but her longing for Will, despite his dark moods, continues to unsettle her. But something is changing in Will—the wall he has built around himself is crumbling. Could finding the Magister free Will from his secrets and give Tessa the answers about who she is and what she was born to do?

As their dangerous search for the Magister and the truth leads the friends into peril, Tessa learns that when love and lies are mixed, they can corrupt even the purest heart.

Read More »

TTT: Books That Awaken the Travel Bug In Me

Captura de ecrã 2018-02-06, às 11.19.18

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme created by The Broke and the Bookish in June 2010 out of a love of lists. It recently changed to That Artsy Reader Girl and that’s where you can find the topics for each Tuesday.

This week’s topic is:

Books That Awaken the Travel Bug In Me

 

This is an awesome topic! I missed last weeks topic because DNF books are just not my thing, and I wouldn’t have much to talk about. Plus, I had another post I wanted to put on my blog that day so… Yeah, that happened. But this topic, and in general, topics like this, I’m a fan of and I definitely want to share my book experiences with you guys!

There’s many I would love to talk about and for sure many I must be forgetting, but I will focus on 10 books. I have a mix of historical fiction books, contemporary books, fantasy and even classics. They are mostly set in different countries and I would love to see if you guys have read any of these books or are interested in any of the countries I mentioned!

Which books awaken the travel bug in you? To which countries?

Read More »

Leah on the Offbeat by Becky Albertalli

01062018-IMG_7962.jpg

31180248

 

Leah on the Offbeat by Becky Albertalli
Series: Creekwood #2
Publisher: Penguin
First published April 24th, 2018
Genres: YA, Contemporary
Pages: 339
Format: Paperback
Buy: Book Depository | Amazon

Leah Burke – girl-band drummer, master of deadpan, and Simon Spier’s best friend from the award-winning Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda – takes center stage in this novel of first love and senior-year angst.

When it comes to drumming, Leah Burke is usually on beat – but real life isn’t always so rhythmic. An anomaly in her friend group, she’s the only child of a young, single mum, and her life is decidedly less privileged. And even though her mom knows she’s bisexual, she hasn’t mustered the courage to tell her friends – not even her openly gay BFF, Simon.

So Leah really doesn’t know what to do when her rock-solid friend group starts to fracture in unexpected ways. With prom and college on the horizon, tensions are running high. It’s hard for Leah to strike the right note while the people she loves are fighting-especially when she realizes she might love one of them more than she ever intended.

Read More »

The Burning Maze by Rick Riordan

01062018-IMG_7957.jpg

9780141364001

 

The Burning Maze by Rick Riordan
Series: The Trials of Apollo #3
Publisher: Puffin
Published May 1st, 2018
Genres: YA/Middle Grade, Fantasy, Mythology
Pages: 452
Format: Paperback
Buy: Book Depository | Amazon

I WAS A GOD, ONCE. UNTIL I WAS CAST OUT BY MY FATHER, ZEUS.

NOW I’M AN AWKWARD MORTAL TEENAGER CALLED LESTER. BOUND TO A DIFFICULT AND DANGEROUS DEMIGOD CALLED MEG. THANKS A LOT, DAD.

My way out? A series of scary and dangerous trials, of course.

For my third mission, I must:
Journey through the Labyrinth to free an Oracle who only speaks in puzzles.

Defeat a vicious and bloodthirsty Roman Emperor – the most vicious of three very vicious and bloodthirsty Roman Emperors.

Is that all? No, I’ve to do everything without any of my godly powers. Wonderful. Looks like I’ll be needing all the help I can get. From new friends, and old . . .

This edition includes a Percy Jackson short story!
Clarisse, daughter of Ares, the Greek god of war, needs Percy Jackson’s help. Her father’s chariot has been stolen and she has to get it back by sunset.
The only hitch? The chariot-jackers are none other than her terrifying immortal brothers Phobos and Deimos. Can Percy and Clarisse get the chariot back before it’s too late?

Find out in: PERCY JACKSON AND THE STOLEN CHARIOT

Read More »

Romeo and Juliet by William Shakespeare

21052018-IMG_7926.jpg

18135

 

Romeo and Juliet by William Shakespeare
Series: N/A
Publisher: Washington Square Press
First published in 1597
Genres: Classics, Play, Literature, Drama
Pages: 283
Format: Paperback
Buy: Book Depository | Amazon

In Romeo and Juliet, Shakespeare creates a world of violence and generational conflict in which two young people fall in love and die because of that love. The story is rather extraordinary in that the normal problems faced by young lovers are here so very large. It is not simply that the families of Romeo and Juliet disapprove of the lover’s affection for each other; rather, the Montagues and the Capulets are on opposite sides in a blood feud and are trying to kill each other on the streets of Verona. Every time a member of one of the two families dies in the fight, his relatives demand the blood of his killer. Because of the feud, if Romeo is discovered with Juliet by her family, he will be killed. Once Romeo is banished, the only way that Juliet can avoid being married to someone else is to take a potion that apparently kills her, so that she is burried with the bodies of her slain relatives. In this violent, death-filled world, the movement of the story from love at first sight to the union of the lovers in death seems almost inevitable.

What is so striking about this play is that despite its extraordinary setting (one perhaps reflecting Elizabethan attitudes about hot-blooded Italians), it has become the quintessential story of young love. Because most young lovers feel that they have to overcome giant obstacles in order to be together, because they feel that they would rather die than be kept apart, and especially because the language Shakespeare gives his young lovers is so exquisite, allowing them to say to each other just what we would all say to a lover if we only knew how, it is easy to respond to this play as if it were about all young lovers rather than about a particular couple in a very unusual world. (When the play was rewritten in the eighteen century as The History and Fall of Caius Marius, the violent setting became that of a particularly discordant period in classical Rome; when Leonard Berstein rewrote the play as West Side Story, he chose the violent world of New York street gangs.)

Read More »

A Court of Frost and Starlight by Sarah J. Maas

25052018-IMG_7934.jpg

36048256

 

A Court of Frost and Starlight by Sarah J. Maas
Series: A Court of Thrones and Roses #3.1
Publisher: Bloomsbury YA
Published May 1st, 2018
Genres: YA/NA, Fantasy, Romance
Pages: 229
Format: Paperback
Buy: Book Depository | Amazon

The Winter Solstice. In a week. I was still new enough to being High Lady that I had no idea what my formal role was to be. If we’d have a High Priestess do some odious ceremony, as lanthe had done the year before A year. Gods, nearly a year since Rhys had called in his bargain, desperate to get me away from the poison of the Spring Court to save me from my despair. Had he been only a minute later, the Mother knew what would have happened. Where I’d now be. Snow swirled and eddied in the garden, catching in the brown fibers of the burlap covering the shrubs My mate who had worked so hard and so selflessly, all without hope that I would ever be with him We had both fought for that love, bled for it. Rhys had died for it.

Read More »

Salt to the Sea by Ruta Sepetys

11052018-IMG_7870

28103790

 

Salt to the Sea by Ruta Sepetys
Series: N/A
Publisher: Puffin
First published February 2nd, 2016
Genres: Ya, Historical Fiction – WWII
Pages: 391
Format: Paperback
Buy: Book Depository | Amazon

It’s early 1945 and a group of people trek across East Prussia, bound together by their desperation to reach the ship that can take them away from the war-ravaged land. Four young people, each haunted by their own dark secret, narrate their unforgettable stories. Fans of The Book Thief or Helen Dunmore’s The Siege will be totally absorbed.

This inspirational novel is based on a true story from the Second World War. When the German ship the Wilhelm Gustloff was sunk in port in early 1945 it had over 9000 civilian refugees, including children, on board. Nearly all were drowned. Ruta Sepetys, acclaimed author of Between Shades of Grey, brilliantly imagines their story.

Read More »

TTT: Best Character Names

Captura de ecrã 2018-02-06, às 11.19.18

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme created by The Broke and the Bookish in June 2010 out of a love of lists. It recently changed to That Artsy Reader Girl and that’s where you can find the topics for each Tuesday.

This week’s topic is:

Best Character Names (make this as narrow/broad as you’d like)

Well… Dang it. This is difficult as hell! I often forget characters’ names, especially if it’s not the main characters. This will require some proper research haha. But let’s do it! I will be taking names from 10 books for male names and 20 books for female names.

What are some of your favorite character’s names?

Read More »