The Project by Courtney Summers Review

The Project by Courtney Summers
Series:
Publisher: Wednesday Books
First published February 2nd 2021
Genres: YA,Thriller, Mystery
Pages: 346
Format: Paperback
Buy: Book Depository | Amazon

Lo Denham is used to being on her own. After her parents died in a tragic car accident, her sister Bea joined the elusive community called The Unity Project, leaving Lo to fend for herself. Desperate not to lose the only family she has left, Lo has spent the last six years trying to reconnect with Bea, only to be met with radio silence.

When Lo’s given the perfect opportunity to gain access to Bea’s reclusive life, she thinks they’re finally going to be reunited. But it’s difficult to find someone who doesn’t want to be found, and as Lo delves deeper into The Project and its charismatic leader, she begins to realize that there’s more at risk than just her relationship with Bea: her very life might be in danger.

As she uncovers more questions than answers at each turn, everything Lo thought she knew about herself, her sister, and the world is upended. One thing doesn’t change, though, and that’s what keeps her going: Bea needs her, and Lo will do anything to save her.

From Courtney Summers, the New York Times bestselling author of the 2019 Edgar Award Winner and breakout hit Sadie, comes her electrifying follow-up—a suspenseful, pulls-no-punches story about an aspiring young journalist determined to save her sister no matter the cost.

Captura de ecrã 2017-06-30, às 18.09.21

I would read anything written by Courtney Summers. I seem to like all her books. They tend to be the perfect amount of dark and deep for me and this one was no different.

Read More »

The Sea Was a Fair Master by Calvin Demmer

Captura de ecrã 2017-06-30, às 18.47.18

40033777

The Sea Was a Fair Master by Calvin Demmer

Series: N/A

Publisher: Unnerving

Published June 5th 2018

Genres: Short Stories, Horror, Flash Fiction

Pages: 83

Format: Ebook

Buy: Book Depository | Amazon

* Received this copy from the Author in exchange for an honest review. Thank you very much! This doesn’t affect the review in any way. My opinions are, as always, my own.*

The world’s fate lies with a comatose young girl; an android wants to remember a human she once knew under Martian skies; men at sea learn that the ocean is a realm far different from land, where an unforgiving god rules; a school security guard discovers extreme English class; and a man understands what the behemoth beneath the sea commands of him.

The Sea Was a Fair Master is a collection of 23 stories, riding the currents of fantasy, science fiction, crime, and horror. There are tales of murder, death, loss, revenge, greed, and hate. There are also tales of hope, survival, and love.

For the sea was a fair master.

Read More »

Most Anticipated Releases of 2019 – Part 1

Captura de ecrã 2019-01-06, às 21.30.57.png

Hey guys!

It’s already 2019 and it’s time to check out some new releases!! Who’s excited?? These are the books I am interested in getting as of now, hopefully we have some in common! I will be only mentioning books from January through June in this post, and will later do another post more accurate, with releases from July trough December.

So here’s my list of anticipated books for 2019:
Read More »

Rebecca by Daphne du Maurier

01112018-IMG_8448.jpg

51jiM0V+KRL

 

Rebecca by Daphne du Maurier
Series: N/A
Publisher: Virago Modern Classics
First published August 1938
Genres: Classics, Gothic, Thriller, Romance
Pages: 441
Format: Paperback
Buy: Book Depository | Amazon

Last night I dreamt I went to Manderley again…

Working as a paid companion to a bitter elderly lady, the timid heroine of Rebecca learns her place. Life is bleak until, on a trip to the South of France, she falls in love with Maxim de Winter, a handsome widower whose proposal takes her by surprise. Whisked from Monte Carlo to Manderley, Maxim’s isolated Cornish estate, the friendless young bride begins to realise she barely knows her husband at all. And in every corner of every room is the phantom of his beautiful first wife, Rebecca.

Rebecca is the haunting story of a woman consumed by love and the struggle to find her identity.

Read More »

TTT: Freebie – Bookshelf Appreciation​

Captura de ecrã 2018-02-06, às 11.19.18

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme created by The Broke and the Bookish in June 2010 out of a love of lists. It recently changed to That Artsy Reader Girl and that’s where you can find the topics for each Tuesday.

This week’s topic is:

Freebie – create your own topic – Bookshelf Appreciation

So, I decided to share my bookshelves today. I love seeing bookshelf tours on Youtube but in bookish blogs, it’s a bit more rare to see them. And that’s why I decided to make that my topic. Also, sorry for some photos, the day was terribly crappy and so, I had to use artificial light which didn’t help at all.

What do you think of my bookshelves? How do you organize yours?

Read More »

TTT: Books I Loved but Will Never Re-Read

Captura de ecrã 2018-02-06, às 11.19.18

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme created by The Broke and the Bookish in June 2010 out of a love of lists. It recently changed to That Artsy Reader Girl and that’s where you can find the topics for each Tuesday.

This week’s topic is:

Books I Loved but Will Never Re-Read

This topic was submitted by Brandyn @ Goingforgoldilocks.

This is quite a difficult question… If I loved the book I would probably re-read it if I had time for it. If I just liked it – well, that would be a different thing… But I will do a Top 10 books of around 4-5 stars, that wouldn’t be in my priorities to re-read for different reasons.

What are some books you loved but wouldn’t re-read? Why? 

Read More »

The Female of the Species by Mindy McGinnis

19022018-IMG_7207.jpg

25812109

 

The Female of the Species by Mindy McGinnis
Series: N/A
Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books
Published September 20th, 2016
Genres: YA, Contemporary, Mystery-Thriller
Pages: 352
Format: Paperback
Buy: Book Depository | Amazon

A contemporary YA novel that examines rape culture through alternating perspectives.

Alex Craft knows how to kill someone. And she doesn’t feel bad about it.
Three years ago, when her older sister, Anna, was murdered and the killer walked free, Alex uncaged the language she knows best—the language of violence. While her own crime goes unpunished, Alex knows she can’t be trusted among other people. Not with Jack, the star athlete who wants to really know her but still feels guilty over the role he played the night Anna’s body was discovered. And not with Peekay, the preacher’s kid with a defiant streak who befriends Alex while they volunteer at an animal shelter. Not anyone.

As their senior year unfolds, Alex’s darker nature breaks out, setting these three teens on a collision course that will change their lives forever.

Read More »

The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle by Stuart Turton – ARC Review

Captura de ecrã 2017-06-30, às 18.44.22

35967101

The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle by Stuart Turton

Series: N/A

Publisher: Raven Books

Expected publication: February 8th, 2018 (UK) / September (US)

Genres: Mystery, Thriller, Fiction

Pages: 512

Format: ARC

Buy: Book Depository | Amazon

* Received this copy from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. Thank you very much! This doesn’t affect the review in any way. My opinions are, as always, my own.*

How do you stop a murder that’s already happened?

At a gala party thrown by her parents, Evelyn Hardcastle will be killed–again. She’s been murdered hundreds of times, and each day, Aiden Bishop is too late to save her. Doomed to repeat the same day over and over, Aiden’s only escape is to solve Evelyn Hardcastle’s murder and conquer the shadows of an enemy he struggles to even comprehend–but nothing and no one are quite what they seem.

Deeply atmospheric and ingeniously plotted, The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle is a highly original debut that will appeal to fans of Kate Atkinson and Agatha Christie.

Read More »

It by Stephen King

02122017-IMG_6982.jpg

11381895

 

It by Stephen King
Series: N/A
Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
First published September 1986
Genres: Fantasy, Horror, Thriller
Pages: 1166
Format: Paperback
Buy: Book Depository | Amazon

It was the children who saw – and feel – what made the small town of Derry so horribly different. In the storm drains, in the sewers, IT lurks, taking on the shape of every nightmare, each one’s deepest dread.
Time passes and the children grow up, move away and forget. Until they are called back, once more to confront IT as it sirs and coils in the sullen depths of their memories, reaching up again to make their past nightmares a terrible present reality.

Read More »

A Stranger in the House by Shari Lapena

18102017-IMG_6899.jpg

32943022

A Stranger in the House by Shari Lapena
Series: N/A
Publisher: Bantam Press
First published July 27th, 2017
Genres: Mystery, Thriller, Fiction
Pages: 289
Format: Hardcover
Buy: Book Depository | Amazon

He looks at her, concerned. “How do you feel?” She wants to say, Terrified. Instead, she says, with a faint smile, “Glad to be home.”

Karen and Tom Krupp are happy—they’ve got a lovely home in upstate New York, they’re practically newlyweds, and they have no kids to interrupt their comfortable life together. But one day, Tom returns home to find Karen has vanished—her car’s gone and it seems she left in a rush. She even left her purse—complete with phone and ID—behind.

There’s a knock on the door—the police are there to take Tom to the hospital where his wife has been admitted. She had a car accident, and lost control as she sped through the worst part of town.

The accident has left Karen with a concussion and a few scrapes. Still, she’s mostly okay—except that she can’t remember what she was doing or where she was when she crashed. The cops think her memory loss is highly convenient, and they suspect she was up to no good.

Karen returns home with Tom, determined to heal and move on with her life. Then she realizes something’s been moved. Something’s not quite right. Someone’s been in her house. And the police won’t stop asking questions.

Because in this house, everyone’s a stranger. Everyone has something they’d rather keep hidden. Something they might even kill to keep quiet.

Read More »