City of Ghosts by Victoria Schwab

27092018-IMG_8297.jpg

40512862

 

City of Ghosts by Victoria Schwab
Series: Cassidy Blake #1
Publisher: Scholastic
Published August 28th, 2018
Genres: Middle Grade, Paranormal, Fantasy
Pages: 285
Format: Paperback
Buy: Book Depository | Amazon

Cassidy Blake’s parents are The Inspectres, a (somewhat inept) ghost-hunting team. But Cass herself can REALLY see ghosts. In fact, her best friend, Jacob, just happens to be one.

When The Inspectres head to ultra-haunted Edinburgh, Scotland, for their new TV show, Cass—and Jacob—come along. In Scotland, Cass is surrounded by ghosts, not all of them friendly. Then she meets Lara, a girl who can also see the dead. But Lara tells Cassidy that as an In-betweener, their job is to send ghosts permanently beyond the Veil. Cass isn’t sure about her new mission, but she does know the sinister Red Raven haunting the city doesn’t belong in her world. Cassidy’s powers will draw her into an epic fight that stretches through the worlds of the living and the dead, in order to save herself.

Read More »

Most Anticipated Releases 2018 – Part 2

Captura de ecrã 2018-05-15, às 00.17.32.pngHey guys!

In January I posted my Anticipated Releases Part 1 and now it’s time for part 2!

To be honest, I don’t think I have that many to mention… The first part of the year was way fuller than this one, but I do have some I really want and some I’ve even already pre-ordered, which I’m super pumped about! I know I won’t be reading all of these but for sure some I will!

Also, make sure you comment below, which books do you have on your wish lists, for this part of the year!!

So here’s my list of anticipated books for the second part of 2018:
Read More »

TTT: Books I’d Slay a Lion to Get Early

Captura de ecrã 2018-02-06, às 11.19.18

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme created by The Broke and the Bookish in June 2010 out of a love of lists. It recently changed to That Artsy Reader Girl and that’s where you can find the topics for each Tuesday.

This week’s topic is:

Books I’d Slay a Lion to Get Early (Submitted by Emma)

This is quite a cool topic, there are definitely some books I would do anything to get my hands on.

What are some of the books you would do anything to get your hands on?

Read More »

TTT: Frequently Used Words In YA Titles

Captura de ecrã 2018-02-06, às 11.19.18

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme created by The Broke and the Bookish in June 2010 out of a love of lists. It recently changed to That Artsy Reader Girl and that’s where you can find the topics for each Tuesday.

This week’s topic is:

Frequently Used Words In YA Titles

This topic seems like quite a lot of fun.

I will give the example of 6 popular words in YA and as many books as I could find with it, without belonging to the same series (since many start with the same word). In the end, I will also put some other words I found, but without examples.

What is the word you found most common in YA titles?

Read More »

Our Dark Duet by Victoria Schwab

IMG_6768.jpg

32075662
Our Dark Duet 
by Victoria Schwab
Series: Monsters of Verity #2
Publisher: Greenwillow Books
Published June 13th, 2017
Genres: Fantasy, YA, Paranormal
Pages: 510
Format: Paperback
Buy: Book Depository | Amazon

THE WORLD IS BREAKING. AND SO ARE THEY.

KATE HARKER isn’t afraid of monsters. She hunts them. And she’s good at it.
AUGUST FLYNN once yearned to be human. He has a part to play. And he will play it, no matter the cost.

THE WAR HAS BEGUN.
THE MONSTERS ARE WINNING.

Kate will have to return to Verity. August will have to let her back in. And a new monster is waiting—one that feeds on chaos and brings out its victims’ inner demons.
Which will be harder to conquer: the monsters they face, or the monsters within?

Read More »

This Savage Song by Victoria Schwab (spoiler free)

IMG_6765.jpg

31706495

This Savage Song by Victoria Schwab
Series: Monsters of Verity #1
Publisher: Greenwillow Books
first published June 7th, 2016
Genres: Fantasy, YA, Paranormal
Pages: 480
Format: Paperback
Buy: Book Depository | Amazon

There’s no such thing as safe in a city at war, a city overrun with monsters. In this dark urban fantasy from acclaimed author Victoria Schwab, a young woman and a young man must choose whether to become heroes or villains—and friends or enemies—with the future of their home at stake. The first of two books, This Savage Song is a must-have for fans of Holly Black, Maggie Stiefvater, and Laini Taylor.

Kate Harker and August Flynn are the heirs to a divided city—a city where the violence has begun to breed actual monsters. All Kate wants is to be as ruthless as her father, who lets the monsters roam free and makes the humans pay for his protection. All August wants is to be human, as good-hearted as his own father, to play a bigger role in protecting the innocent—but he’s one of the monsters. One who can steal a soul with a simple strain of music. When the chance arises to keep an eye on Kate, who’s just been kicked out of her sixth boarding school and returned home, August jumps at it. But Kate discovers August’s secret, and after a failed assassination attempt the pair must flee for their lives. In This Savage Song, Victoria Schwab creates a gritty, seething metropolis, one worthy of being compared to Gotham and to the four versions of London in her critically acclaimed fantasy for adults, A Darker Shade of Magic. Her heroes will face monsters intent on destroying them from every side—including the monsters within.

Read More »