The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

19112017-IMG_6967

17118893

 

The Fault in Our Stars by John Green
Series: N/A
Publisher: Penguin Books
First published January 10th 2012
Genres: Contemporary, YA, Romance
Pages: 318
Format: Paperback
Buy: Book Depository | Amazon

“I fell in love the way you fall asleep: slowly, then all at once.”

Despite the tumor-shrinking medical miracle that has bought her a few years, Hazel has never been anything but terminal, her final chapter inscribed upon diagnosis. But when a gorgeous plot twist named Augustus Waters suddenly appears at Cancer Kid Support Group, Hazel’s story is about to be completely rewritten.

Insightful, bold, irreverent, and raw, The Fault in Our Stars is award-winning author John Green’s most ambitious and heartbreaking work yet, brilliantly exploring the funny, thrilling, and tragic business of being alive and in love.

Read More »

Advertisements

Manga Classic: Jane Eyre (ARC Review)

Captura de ecrã 2017-06-30, às 18.44.22
26591771

Jane Eyre adapted by Stacy King

Series: Manga Classics

Publisher: Udon Entertainment

Published November 15th, 2016

Genres: Manga, Classics

Pages: 319

Format: ARC

Buy: Book Depository | Amazon

* Received this copy from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. Thank you very much! This doesn’t affect the review in any way. My opinions are, as always, my own.*

As an orphaned child, Jane Eyre is first cruelly abused by her aunt, then cast out and sent to a charity school. Though she meets with further abuse, she receives an education, and eventually takes a job as a governess at the estate of Edward Rochester. Jane and Rochester begin to bond, but his dark moods trouble her. When Jane uncovers the terrible secret Rochester has been hiding, she flees and finds temporary refuge at the home of St. John Rivers.

Read More »

Queens of Geek by Jen Wilde

11102017-IMG_6884

28245707

 

Queens of Geek by Jen Wilde
Series: N/A
Publisher: Swoon Reads
Published March 14th, 2017
Genres: Contemporary, YA, Romance, LGBT
Pages: 288
Format: Paperback
Buy: Book Depository | Amazon

When BFFs Charlie, Taylor and Jamie go to SupaCon, they know it’s going to be a blast. What they don’t expect is for it to change their lives forever.

Charlie likes to stand out. SupaCon is her chance to show fans she’s over her public breakup with co-star, Reese Ryan. When Alyssa Huntington arrives as a surprise guest, it seems Charlie’s long-time crush on her isn’t as one-sided as she thought.

While Charlie dodges questions about her personal life, Taylor starts asking questions about her own.

Taylor likes to blend in. Her brain is wired differently, making her fear change. And there’s one thing in her life she knows will never change: her friendship with Jamie—no matter how much she may secretly want it to. But when she hears about the Queen Firestone SupaFan Contest, she starts to rethink her rules on playing it safe.

Read More »

We Have Always Lived in the Castle by Shirley Jackson

18102017-IMG_6910.jpg

89724

We Have Always Lived in the Castle by Shirley Jackson
Series: N/A
Publisher: Penguin
First published in 1962
Genres: Classics, Gothic, Mystery, Horror
Pages: 146
Format: Paperback
Buy: Book Depository | Amazon

Merricat Blackwood lives on the family estate with her sister Constance and her Uncle Julian. Not long ago there were seven Blackwoods—until a fatal dose of arsenic found its way into the sugar bowl one terrible night. Acquitted of the murders, Constance has returned home, where Merricat protects her from the curiosity and hostility of the villagers. Their days pass in happy isolation until cousin Charles appears. Only Merricat can see the danger, and she must act swiftly to keep Constance from his grasp.

Read More »

Slasher Girls & Monster Boys Anthology​

24102017-IMG_6911.jpg

9780147514080

Slasher Girls & Monster Boys stories selected by April Genevieve Tucholke
Series: N/A
Publisher: Speak
First published August 18th, 2015
Genres: Anthologies, YA, Horror, Paranormal
Pages: 416
Format: Paperback
Buy: Book Depository | Amazon

For fans of Stephen King, Neil Gaiman, Lois Duncan, and Daphne Du Maurier comes a powerhouse anthology featuring some of the best writers of YA thrillers and horror

A host of the smartest young adult authors come together in this collection of scary stories and psychological thrillers curated by Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea’s April Genevieve Tucholke.

Each story draws from a classic tale or two—sometimes of the horror genre, sometimes not—to inspire something new and fresh and terrifying. There are no superficial scares here; these are stories that will make you think even as they keep you on the edge of your seat. From bloody horror to supernatural creatures to unsettling, all-too-possible realism, this collection has something for any reader looking for a thrill.

Fans of TV’s The Walking Dead, True Blood, and American Horror Story will tear through tales by these talented authors:

Stefan Bachmann, Leigh Bardugo, Kendare Blake, A. G. Howard, Jay Kristoff, Marie Lu, Jonathan Maberry, Danielle Paige, Carrie Ryan, Megan Shepherd, Nova Ren Suma, McCormick Templeman, April Genevieve Tucholke and Cat Winters.

Read More »

Ouran Host Club Book Tag

ouran-high-school-host-club-218-wide800

I was tagged ages ago by Nadwa@Painfullyfictional to do the Ouran Host Club Book Tag. So thank you so much Nadwa!! I’ve never seen this anime, although I must say that it does look cute and reminds me of another anime! I’m for sure a fan of both anime and manga so, I’m happy to be doing this tag and sorry I got to it so late! >.<

And since this is a book tag that is based on anime, I will answer some of the questions with anime/manga characters! But since I don’t know if a lot of you guys are interested in it, I will also get some YA characters in here! Double excited for this one^^

Also congrats to icebreaker694 for doing such a cool tag! I absolutely love anime and this is perfect for me!

*I don’t own any of the art in this post*Read More »

A Skinful of Shadows by Frances Hardinge

18102017-IMG_6901

9781509869305

A Skinful of Shadows by Frances Hardinge
Series: N/A
Publisher: Macmillan
Published September 26th, 2017
Genres: Fantasy, YA, Historical Fiction
Pages: 415
Format: Paperback
Buy: Book Depository | Amazon

This is the story of a bear-hearted girl . . .

Sometimes, when a person dies, their spirit goes looking for somewhere to hide.
Some people have space within them, perfect for hiding.

Twelve-year-old Makepeace has learned to defend herself from the ghosts which try to possess her in the night, desperate for refuge, but one day a dreadful event causes her to drop her guard.

And now there’s a spirit inside her.

The spirit is wild, brutish and strong, and it may be her only defence when she is sent to live with her father’s rich and powerful ancestors. There is talk of civil war, and they need people like her to protect their dark and terrible family secret.

But as she plans her escape and heads out into a country torn apart by war, Makepeace must decide which is worse: possession – or death.”

Read More »